Sudden plan to explore Patia and try a new street food

Hi folks,

It is always fun to discover new places and try new foods. I recently had the opportunity to do both, and I can’t wait to tell you about it.

It was an impromptu decision to explore Patia, and we made full utilization of the holiday. We traveled past locations such as Jayadev Vihar, XIM University (Xavier Institute of Management), and InfoCity before making a U-turn towards KIIT University.

The adage “It’s Not the Destination, but the Journey That Matters” perfectly sums up our most recent outing. It was a holiday, and we actually didn’t have a specific destination in mind and just went for a scooter ride (I was riding pillion). And we ended up enjoying the ride quite a lot.

There were wall paintings all over the city, and the road was not very congested. The beauty of the sunset near KIIT University was the icing on the cake. It resembled a little hill, and as the sun prepared to set, the clouds were spectacular. We paused to enjoy the view. 

The street food was another highlight of the outing. I haven’t really enjoyed a street dish in Bhubaneswar until now. I had previously tried egg rolls and chaat, but neither won my heart. I gave momo a try this time. In Kolkata, momo and soup are usually served together. However, there was no soup here, though I am yet to explore other food joints. We took a break at Ashok Nagar. We came across a small, popular store that was packed with customers. I opted for a half-plate vegetarian momo (price: Rs 30). There were five pieces of momo served along with tomato sauce and mayonnaise. I never imagined having momo with mayonnaise. This was something new for me. This is one street food corner I would love to visit again.

So, this was all about my latest outing.  Do share yours too.

Love

Tania

Leave a comment