Bhubaneswar to Howrah: My super fast train was super late

If you don’t know how to amuse yourself on a train when you are traveling alone, it could be rather boring. Additionally, you can get annoyed, upset, and anxious if your train is running several hours late and a second might appear to last for an hour.

Recently, I travelled by SMVB HWH AC EXP (22864) for the first time. The super fast train was super late.  The train that was scheduled to leave Bhubaneswar at 9.55 am instead left the station at 1.52 pm.

Even though “Indian Railway” kept us informed of the train’s whereabouts, it was of little use to us. We were informed beforehand that the train was running late by 2 hours from the last destination and that it was likely to make up.

I did not want to take a chance so I arrived at the station an hour after the initial scheduled arrival time. As I sat down and mentally prepared myself for the wait, there was a notification informing that the train would be 3 hours late.

After 4 hours, finally we got the “darshan” of the train.

Most of my co-passengers who boarded the train from Bhubaneshwar were travelling alone. Even though everyone was aware of the train’s delay, each person had a different justification for arriving at the station on time. You see, I wasn’t alone.   

Despite the fact that I was unhappy with how the train kept us waiting and wasted our entire day, there were some positive things I took away from this trip.

First of all, I relished the conversation I had with two of my fellow travelers. One of them was a professor who was in Bhubaneshwar for a conference. The other person works in the IT industry now but eventually wants to work for the government. Your understanding of people and work expands as you interact with diverse people from various professions.

The second thing that excited me was a train that was exclusively carrying cars. Up until that point, I had never seen a train like it. 

And yes, I passed my time by watching a web series.

So, this was an update on my most recent trip. What about you?

Inside view of my train
After crossing Kharagpur, enjoyed puffed rice and tea
The train carrying cars

Leave a comment