Yummy! I tried ‘Appam’ for the FIRST TIME; see pics of this South Indian Dish

I was diagnosed with sinusitis and it took me more than a week to recover. I was sick of being sick and wanted to step out of my home and take some fresh air. To put it simply, I desired a fun day outing. When I started to feel better, my husband took me out to lunch and suggested that I try something new. The new dish was Appam.

We visited Zingiber, a popular South Indian restaurant in Bhubaneswar. We had Appam and mixed vegetable stew.

I asked my husband what he thought about the food, and he responded, “It is a healthy, light dish and goes well with stew. I like the dish a lot since I never feel heavy after having it.”

Appam is a thin pancake, made with fermented rice batter and coconut milk, originating from South India.

We ate egg and butter appam. This pancake goes well with both mixed vegetable stew and chicken stew.

Sharing some pictures of the dish here:

Butter Appam
Butter Appam and Mixed Vegetable Stew
Egg Appam

You can also watch this video.

Leave a comment