A break from routine life: A visit to one of our favourite sandwich corners

There is something about nostalgia. It makes us feel happy, warmer. It is amazing to revisit certain places that evoke nostalgia. Speaking of which, Shyambazar of North Kolkata has a special place in my heart. It evokes lovely memories of my student life. So today I am going to narrate an anecdote about those days.

A popular sandwich corner of Shyambazar

The tale is about my fondness for a sandwich corner of Shyambazar. I lived in a hostel, and during my academic days, I was one of the frequent customers of Sital Ashram. The name may sound old-fashioned to many, but it is one of the hot and happening food corners of Shyambazar. The tables rarely remain unoccupied. From youngsters to senior citizens, everyone comes to this place to gorge on omelets, tea, and snacks like sandwiches.

When I was young, I was quite a sports enthusiast, and after running for a few kilometers in Deshbandhu Park, I would look forward to having breakfast here. My sister, who also stayed in a hostel, was quite fond of this food corner, too.

The only drawback is that it is so tiny that if you are not aware of this food corner, you might not even notice it. Having said that, this cozy food corner is popular for its reasonable price, and over the years, it has developed loyal customers.

A short break from routine life

So, last year, as the winter had set in, my husband and I were in the mood to revisit the lanes of Shyambazar yet again. And of course, we were also excited to visit one of our favourite corners to grab a bite.

However, due to the pandemic, we decided not to sit in the food corner. We chose an empty lane and used the seat of our Activa as our dining table. We ate, clicked some pictures, and talked about the old but golden days. It was a refreshing feeling. Such short breaks from routine life are much-needed.

Here are some glimpses from the short ‘breakfast-outing’.

Leave a comment