My tryst with water roller, kayaking and water capsule

12483380_883137475133008_150715038_n
the kayaking area

Life becomes interesting when we fall in love with our dreams, passion and adventure. We feel rejuvenated and fall in love with our life more…

I love water and have always wanted to participate in different water sports. Whenever, anyone discusses such sports, it brings a smile on my face. Now, imagine how ecstatic I feel when I get to indulge in such activities!!! I recently tried three water sports: Kayaking, water-roller (type of water zorbing) and water capsule (you can call it a water balloon) in Eco Park, Kolkata. Since the day I came to learn that the Park has got such recreational activities, I added them to my wish list. I was eagerly waiting for this day and now that I have experimented, I can’t wait longer to share my happiness with you all. After all, happiness shared is happiness doubled!

I cajoled a very close friend of mine to accompany me in this mission. And guess what??? This friend of mine had never tried such stuffs before. So, I was a bit worried thinking how my friend would react after trying them. Well, now I must say that my partner in this crime turned out to be super cool!!!

So here goes my fun filled outing…

Water roller

As you now know that how passionate I am about such stuffs, so after entering into the park we headed straight towards the gaming zone. There were two giant sized water rollers, parked near the shore of the lake, vying for our attention. The roller is a double layered cylindrical balloon having proper ventilation at its both ends. At most three people can enjoy the game at a time. The idea is to make it roll in water by running, jumping, crawling or doing whatever non sense you can do in it. Even elderly people try it and become completely childish inside it. It is a nice game that brings out the child inside you and lets you enjoy.

12459766_883132355133520_1155975892_n
water rollers

I was a bit worried, though, initially, whether I would be allowed to enter it wearing my specs. As opening my specs would mean, I would be able to see almost nothing and would not be able to enjoy as much. But, Thank God, I was not asked to do so! Though, they will request you to get rid of any metallic items, like wrist watch, hair clip etc, that you are wearing. This is to ensure that the balloon does not get damaged coming in contact with the metallic objects. One can go inside with mobile phones and click as many selfies/groupfies as one wants to!!! The ride was too exciting. One can try it to get the feeling.

Kayaking

Next, we tried kayaking. I will take the opportunity here to explain in brief about kayaking. Kayaking is simply riding a kayak to float on water. A kayak is a low-to-the-water, canoe-like boat. Here you, yourself will be the oarsman or oarswoman. You will be given a double bladed oar to navigate the boat in the water. The kayaks have provisions of two persons riding it at a time.

Kayaking is an awesome experience and can be best enjoyed with your partner, friends or family. If you are in a big group you can try to get the boats at the same time. You can compete with each other and have all the fun that you want to have by riding a boat. If you want to enjoy a romantic evening with your partner, then it is best to take out the kayak in the evening when the sun is about to set. While you and your partner start crisscrossing the lake, the sky would be blushing with the setting sun and it might just be the perfect moment to express your love and feelings to your partner.

12421549_883136531799769_360814550_n
me, kayaking 🙂

Water capsule

This was the last of all the sports that we had tried that day and I enjoyed this the most. The difference of this capsule with the roller is that, it is a single layered balloon and you can feel the water from close, as only a sheet of plastic will separate you from the deep lake underneath. It is thus more exciting than the roller and you might try it after trying the roller to understand the difference of both. You can run, roll over, jump inside it and enjoy.

The capsule is a balloon and you are first required to enter it. After you enter, the sports conductors would fill up the balloon with oxygen using a blower and seal it by zipping it. Finally, they will push the capsule into water and you are ready to have fun.

12468221_883137121799710_989989922_n

12467751_883137105133045_1641985106_n

12483567_883137078466381_2036512997_n

12463598_883137085133047_361143677_n

It was a day well spent with my buddy. The biggest turning point of this roller coaster trip was my friend falling in love with these crazy little things. I know my friend for around five years. He was never interested in any such activities. And today, I am very happy to share that the experience gave him a new lease of life. He has fallen in love with thrill and adventure. He admitted that he never knew that this side of him existed. This has made me very happy!

PS: Both the roller and the capsule remains tied to the shore with a rope, thus you can only float till a certain limit. And Sayantan Sengupta, thanks a lot for being a part of this mission.

 

2 comments

Leave a comment