The Books I read in 2015

Book
p.c-google

I challenged myself to read ten books this year but unfortunately I could not live up to my promise. However, I read some really good books, which inspired me a lot. The number is not impressive but the contents of books are. I won’t give any excuse for my failure because it’s a fact that I have failed. I will try to compensate it in 2016 as New Year means new aims, new hopes and new beginnings.

So, here goes my list of books that I read in 2015…

1 “Polka Dots, Pony Tails and Purple Pouts” by Amrita Anand Nayak

Polka

The novel is about three froomies (friends-cum-roommates) – Leena, Tia and Jasmine. The story sheds light on varied issues like office-love, Khap panchayats, pre-marital pregnancy etc. Though some of the circumstances appeared too perfect to believe, it still was a warm read.

2 “Facing Up” by Bear Grylls

Facing up

The story revolves around Bear’s journey to the Everest. He is one of the youngest Britons to reach the summit of Mount Everest. He reached the top at the age of twenty-three.

Bear has effectively narrated his experience where you will find adventure, determination, humour, true friendship and inspiration. Reading his story was a treat to the mind. I felt happy after reading the book.

Dreaming about reaching the summit of Mount Everest is not an easy task. But still if you want to scale the mountain via imagination then you can start reading this book.

One of my favourite paragraphs from the book-

“Since our return, though, people have congratulated me on ‘conquering Everest’, but this feels so wrong. We never conquered any mountain. Everest allowed us to reach her summit by the skin of our teeth, and let us go with our lives where others died. We certainly never conquered her. If I have learnt a deep understanding of anything, it is this. Everest never has been nor ever will be conquered. It is what makes the mountain so special.”

3 “Just For You” by Rahul Saini

just for you

The story sheds light on the industry of (young) authors and publishers. Love too is part of the story. It’s a light yet meaningful novel. The narration was gripping and I enjoyed reading the situational humour. However, I found the end a bit abrupt. Overall, the book makes an interesting and refreshing read.

4 “The Leader Who Had No Title” by Robin Sharma

the leader

Robin sir has wonderfully crafted this self-help book with practical examples explaining why self-leadership is necessary to lead an enriched and cheerful life. The narration is gripping, even though some of the paragraphs seemed to be repetitive. Overall, the book is very enlightening.

5 The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

white-tiger

It is the debut novel by the author, which went on to win the 40th Man Booker Award. The book evoked a special feeling in me because it was the first award winning book that I read. The novel focuses on India’s class struggle in a globalized world. Viewing the world from a driver’s point of view was a unique experience.

6 ‘Rendezvous with God’ by Abhilasha Agarwal and Shreeja Mohatta Jhawar

with God

It is a collection of real life stories by eminent personalities from different spheres of life (medical, acting, journalism etc) who have shared their rendezvous with God.

The book has been compiled by Abhilasha Agarwal and Shreeja Mohatta Jhawar.

The stories highlight some of the extraordinary experiences which stir our belief and make our faith stronger in the presence and divinity of the Supreme Being.

Some people call these experiences miracles while some coincidences.

I found the book quite appealing.

7 My Journey: Transforming Dreams Into Actions Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam

my journey

Reading Kalam Sir’s book was one of my dreams. So, when I received this as a gift from the colleagues of my previous office, I jumped in happiness. With simple and lucid narration, Sir has wonderfully captured his journey to inspire people. The book provided a warm and inspirational read.

So, these are the books that I read in 2015. What about you?

 

Leave a comment