The books I read in 2014

Without the following books, my life at hostel and in metro (train) would have been boring…

1) Maharani by Ruskin Bond

Maharani

It was a birthday gift from my close friend.  

This is a dark humorous story which throws light on love, death and friendship. The novella hovers around the selfish and beautiful widow of the Maharaja of Mastipur, her thankless sons who are waiting hungrily for their inheritance and Ruskin, an old friend who can never avoid her.

I appreciate the fact that Ruskin sir unnecessarily doesn’t overload his stories with heavy jargons. He provides a smooth and elegant reading journey.

2) Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coelho 

veronika

It is a highly informative and inspirational story.

While running behind temporary materialistic happiness and managing social responsibilities, we forget the true value of life. Consciously or subconsciously, we fail to realize that our life too can be beautiful…

Those who are yet to explore this story please go ahead….while reading the story you will realize that you are discovering a NEW YOU…

It’s a must read novel.

3) Those Pricey Thakur Girls by Anuja Chauhan

those pricy

Again, it was a birthday gift from my close friend.   

It is an interesting combination of family and professional drama. It was fun reading the book.

4) The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari  by Robin Sharma

the-monk-who-sold-his-ferrari-800x800

Excellent effort by Robin sir to enrich the lives of all those who aim to be positive in every aspects.

I strongly feel, even the non-readers should at least try this book.

5) Hold My Hand by Durjoy Datta

hold my handThe story is light but gripping. The narration is quite different from what Datta usually writes. The novel is rich in information; while reading you will get to know about myriad other books and Hong Kong. Enjoyed reading.

6) Love @ Facebook by Nikita Singh

love at facebook

Language is crispy.

Narration is witty.

Chapter presentation is interesting.

Only the story needed little depth.

…but then

I feel, many confused (in love) teenagers will be able to connect with some incidents of the story.

7) The Zahir by Paulo Coelho  

zahir

The story revolves around a famous author and his wife who is a war correspondent.

Loved reading about the protagonist’s thinking procedure and the interpretation of various incidents that occurred in his life.

My personal request…couples- both married and unmarried, should try this book. Why? Well, I won’t tell you that. I feel, it’s more fun to discover everything by own.

But yes, those who can’t take philosophy and spiritualism, stay away from this enriching novel.

8) The Room on the Roof by Ruskin Bond

room

I wonder how Ruskin sir had crafted this beautiful story with such depth at the meagre age of just 17… Worth reading.

9) Tell Me Your Dreams by Sidney Sheldon  

tell me dreamsIt was a Rakhi gift from my big brother.

Based on murder and mystery, it’s a highly engrossing and edifying novel. This gripping thriller won’t let you relax till you reach the end of the story.

10) By the River Piedra I sat Down and Wept Paulo Coelho

river-piedra

The story focuses on mysteries of love and life. I found the story neither boring nor interesting.

11) David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

david-copperfield

This is the story of a young boy, David Copperfield orphaned at the age of ten, ill-treated and abandoned by a cruel stepfather, and his struggle to make a life for himself.

The story is heart-touching but the presence of so many minor characters was confusing me.

12) Half Girlfriend by Chetan Bhagat

chetan-bhagat-half-girlfriendIt was a Diwali gift from me to me.

I did not find the prologue striking. It seemed somewhat similar to the prologue of “Revolution 2020” (one of his earlier books): Chetan Bhagat encounters with a person who narrates his sad story to him. I expected something refreshing from Chetan Sir.

The first 96 pages presented a predictable commercial Bollywood movie. Awful.

Anyway, there are still some reasons to like the book.

Firstly, I loved the character descriptions of both the protagonists: A) Madhav, Bihari boy, speaks broken English, plays basketball and aims to bring change in his native place. B) Riya, Marwari girl, speaks fluent English, plays basketball and desires to be a singer. Interesting.

Secondly, I liked the issues that he picked up to stitch the story. He touched the varied problems of villages: lack of proper education system, electricity problem and most importantly the urgent need for a girl’s toilet in schools. In his simple language, he also taught us how to improve our public communication skills.

So, I will conclude by saying that I was not that disappointed after completing the book.

13) Marry Me, Stranger by Novoneel Chakraborty

marry me stranger

Chakraborty’s romantic thrillers are just un-put-downable and this one was no different. His philosophy laden description of emotions and feelings are heart-touching.

14) The Diary of Amos Lee 1: I Sit, I Write, I Flush! by Adeline Foo

amos lee

It was an advance Christmas gift from me to me.   

I stumbled upon this book while reading author Preeti Shenoy’s blog (Much love! Preeti Shenoy). Impressed by the title of the book, I did a little research on the internet. Starting from the concept to illustration to book cover, everything seemed cute. And the next thing was I ordered it on Amazon.in.

The book is written as a diary from a 9 year-old child’s point of view. The child jots down the various incidents of his life while doing his big business (potty). Well, it was not the kid who conceived the idea, it was his mum. According to her, this will prevent him from developing piles!

I thoroughly enjoyed this funny book. The curious wimpy kid’s journey was hilarious to read. True friendship, betrayal, comical revenge, embarrassing situations, it has everything to make you smile and laugh.

So, this is my list. What about you?

Leave a comment